English  Mathematics  Humanities  Science  Capabilities  Specialist Programs 


The Victorian Curriculum sets out what every student should learn during their schooling. The curriculum is the common set of knowledge and skills required by students for life-long learning, social development and active informed citizenship. These are defined by Learning Areas and Capabilities.


Excellence in teaching and learning at Chalcot Lodge includes;


  • A strong focus on Wellbeing.

  • Strong Professional Learning Communities across the school.

  • A whole school research-based Teaching and Learning Model.

  • Research based teaching practices across the curriculum.

  • A strong partnership and high expectations of learning and behaviours between the students, staff and parents to support the success of each student.

  • Teachers knowing curriculum, teaching strategies and their students and how they learn best. Specialised programs to meet identified needs.

  • Personalised Learning Programs.

  • Learning will be based on individual student assessment.

  • Collaborative Learning Teams (based on students level along the Victorian Curriculum Continuum).

  • Students set learning goals in collaboration with their teachers.

  • Students developing the abilities to work independently, collaboratively in pairs, and in groups demonstrating social competencies. Students reflect on their learning via self, peer and teacher feedback to continually improve and be successful.

  • Student Voice and Agency.


Students will have the opportunities to access specialist and extracurricular opportunities at Chalcot Lodge Primary School.

  • Digital Technologies

  • Physical Education

  • STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, Mathematics)

  • Mandarin Language



  • Lunchtime Clubs

  • Student leadership – School and Vice Captains

  • Wellbeing Centre

  • Camps

  • Swimming

  • Gala Day (Years 5 & 6)

  • Productions (Year 6)

  • Instrument lessons

  • End of Year Whole School Concert