The English curriculum is organised by language modes and strands.


Language Modes

The language modes are interrelated and the learning in one often supports and extends learning of the others. Each content description has been placed in the mode which is the major focus of its learning.

Classroom contexts that address particular content descriptions will necessarily draw on more than one of these modes in order to support students’ effective learning. For example, students will learn new vocabulary through listening and reading and apply their knowledge and understanding in their speaking and writing as well as in their comprehension of both spoken and written texts.



At Chalcot Lodge Primary School:

The school offers individualised learning based on students point of need in relation to the Victorian Curriculum. 


English Program is embedded in all learning and everyday experiences and involves development in the areas of:  Speaking & Listening; Writing, including Spelling, Grammar and Handwriting; and Reading & Viewing.  We equip students with the skills to communicate and learn effectively in a variety of ways.


A variety of assessment strategies are implemented throughout the year and from this information, teachers collaboratively plan and implement appropriate programs and activities to cater for the varying abilities of their students.


Extra assistance in written and spoken English is provided through our Literacy Intervention Program, including: the Student Individual Learning Plans and the Language Support Program. 


Our Approach to Literacy:




The schools approach to teaching Reading is based on the following 3 principles:

1.         Decoding

2.         Comprehension

3.         Oral Language

We use programs such as CARS and STARS, Fountas and Pinnell to support and facilitate the implementation of the Victorian Curriculum. At Chalcot we use a Synthetic Phonics Approach to teach sounds and skills in decoding.

We teach 3-4 Reading sessions a week focusing on a Victorian Curriculum standard and the skills that relate to those standards.

Students complete a PRE Assessment to identify their starting points and then are grouped into ability teams. Students learn reading skills in these Reading Teams. These teams are fluid and students can move within groups and in between groups to ensure their learning is targeted at their level.




At Chalcot we follow our own Scope and Sequence, developed by the staff and leaders. We use the Seven Steps Writing Program to teach the structure of Writing different text types. We use our Writing Bump it up Walls to conference with students and identify individualised learning goals for students to work on each time they write.

We teach at least 2 Writing sessions, 1 Grammar and 1 Spelling session each week to develop skills in Writing, according to the Victorian Curriculum.

We use the Sound Waves Spelling Program to teach the spelling of different sounds alongside our Synthetic Phonics Approach.




Students participate in weekly speaking and listening skill sessions which focus on specific skills from the Victorian Curriculum.

These sessions usually are taught through circle time, class meetings, unit meetings and or Inquiry sessions.

The skills are taught explicitly and then students are given multiple opportunities to practice these skills across the curriculum.